“because i know no other way”.

So today I came across this poem, and it was so beautiful and breath-taking, I felt that it had to be shared. It’s by Pablo Neruda, a Chilean poet whose works were found somewhere around the 1960’s I think, but I had never heard of him until I found him on THIS BLOG today, (and I recommend you click and read, because it’s pretty awesome). So here it is:

XVII

I do not love you as if you were salt-rose, or topaz,
or the arrow of carnations the fire shoots off.
I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
in secret, between the shadow and the soul.

I love you as the plant that never blooms
but carries in itself the light of hidden flowers;
thanks to your love a certain solid fragrance,
risen from the earth, lives darkly in my body.

I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where.
I love you straightforwardly, without complexities or pride;
so I love you because I know no other way

than this: where does not exist, nor you,
so close that your hand on my chest is my hand,
so close that your eyes close as I fall asleep.

wow. right? i mean, this is amazing.

3 thoughts on ““because i know no other way”.

  1. .Pablo Neruda is one of my favorite poets. You should like this poet as well–

    When I go alone at night

    When I go alone at night to my love-tryst, birds do not sing, the wind does not stir, the houses on both sides of the street stand silent.
    It is my own anklets that grow loud at every step and I am ashamed.

    When I sit on my balcony and listen for his footsteps, leaves do not rustle on the trees, and the water is still in the river like the sword on the knees of a sentry fallen asleep.
    It is my own heart that beats wildly — I do not know how to quiet it.

    When my love comes and sits by my side, when my body trembles and my eyelids droop, the night darkens, the wind blows out the lamp, and the clouds draw veils over the stars.
    It is the jewel at my own breast that shines and gives light. I do not know how to hide it.

    Rabindranath Tagore

    I think my heart stopped the first time I read that one.

Leave a Reply

